Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

How to Read "Those" Bible Books Like Amos.

 2.2.11

How is your Bible reading coming along? I am very, very happy with my reading plan because it allows me to have all the flexibility I love to have and at the same time it helps me not to leave aside those books like Amos or Numbers.

I have learned that the easiest way to read all those books, that seem to be hard to understand is to study them in depth instead of just jumping from one verse to the other trying to catch some vague significance.

So my little advice today is; read those books from the first chapter to the last with a good study help at hand; and no, you don't have to spend a lot of money if you don't want to (but it will be very profitable if you decide to do so). For example, let us take the book of Amos (which we just read over the family table),  I found many great helps that are available online and are free:

*John Piper has two very good sermons, one entitled Prepare to Meet Your God, and The Poor of the Land and the Pride of Jacob.

*Ligonier Ministries has two sermons available too.

*Monergism offers a wide variety of teachings on Amos

* If you rather buy a commentary you can choose from several good options:



Westminster Bookstore





Westminster Bookstore


Westminster Bookstore


Westminster Books

If you would like to listen a whole series on this book while doing the dishes and folding laundry, why not investing in this, Biblical Studies: Amos, which is a compilation of sermons preached by Douglas Wilson (verse by verse chapter by chapter)

Canonpress

Well, hopefully you got the idea, whenever you come to hard books or passages in the Bible, dig deeper, and you will sure find unexpected treasures.


Let us not forget that:

"All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, that the man of God may be competent, equipped for every good work."        2 Tim. 3: 16- 17

May His grace abound as we feast on His Word today.



Post a Comment

I am so glad you are here today. Thanks for visiting this place and taking the time to leave a comment.

I read every comment; however, for the sake of time I don't always reply to each one of them. I am sure you understand.

Under His sun and by His grace,

Becky

Do you want to browse and ponder over older entries?

Click here to visit my former WordPress blog, On My Way to Heaven, there are 255 entries to read!

One day, hopefully, I will import it here!

You can subscribe to receive the almost-daily entries in your favorite reader, or you can become a sojourner; join me on this journey at the right bottom of the page, where it says "sojourners". I would love to "see" your face there.



Thank you for visiting!


I am a contributor here...

Who is Becky?

My Photo
Becky
If I am happy it is because of God! God, in His sovereign grace, has called me out of darkness into His Admirable light. He has opened my eyes and has shown me the way to Eternal Life. He has set my feet on a journey, and now I am walking Daily on My Way to Heaven. I did not find Jesus, He found me. I did not seek Him, yet He called me. I did not love Him, yet He loved me. I deserved death and He gave me Life. This is the place where I keep a journal of my life under His sun and by His grace!
View my complete profile

Borrowed Words

"It becomes us to spend this life only as a journey toward heaven... to which we should subordinate all other concerns of life. Why should we labor for or set our hearts on anything else, but that which is our proper end and true happiness?"

Jonathan Edwards

"I am still pondering God's greatness in His creation. I have so many questions that I would like to ask the Lord about the universe, creation, the fall of man... But when I'm in heaven, I wonder if I will even remember them. At that time, being in the presence of God will be enough. I'm thankful that I can look forward to that day."

-Persis

“Heaven is not here, it’s There. If we were given all we wanted here, our hearts would settle for this world rather than the next. God is forever luring us up and away from this one, wooing us to Himself and His still invisible Kingdom, where we will certainly find what we so keenly long for.”

- Elisabeth Elliot, Keep a Quiet Heart



May I kindly ask, if you wish to use any image or text from this space to email me to get written permission? These are our family pics. Our journal in pixels and few words.
Thank you.

-All photos and words on this website are protected by copyright. Do not download for use in anyway without consent. -

My email is

dailyonmywaytoheaven {at} yahoo {dot} com

Recent Posts

Copyright

All rights reserved©Becky Pliego 2009- 2010. All images and texts are property of the author unless otherwise mentioned.

Back to TOP